Skip to content

Allowing My Inner Child to Emerge…Guest Blogger: Tesi Vaara

April 18, 2019

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Exhibition: Class name: Heliconia. Blog 2 in a series

On the first day of class in February 2017, Gail asked each of her Heliconia students what they expected to learn from the Level 3 Art and Design Course they were about to embark on. I was keen on studying the design principles and elements further and learning to become comfortable using them in the creation of my art quilts. Little did I know the adventure I was about to embark on!

We began learning about colors and value as well as tints and shades and complements using acrylic paints on paper. And we began our discipline of documenting our learnings in sketchbooks. We studied various artists and their methods. We learned how to color our own papers using acrylics, Procion dyes and various other media. Once we had a good supply of colored papers, we began learning how to use different mediums to add another layer to our papers—stamps and stencils made from scratch, various gels and pastes, inks, colored pencils, markers. We studied rocks and trees and practiced sketching them.

At the beginning of each 5-day session, we would review all the students’ work and learn more about the design elements and principals of each piece. Then we would learn a new method and process to continue to push us to develop our own designs over the next 3 months.

I feel that this course has given me a whole new way to view my environment and assist me in my creative adventures. I am comfortable trying new methods. I am not worried about “failing”. I’ve learned to trust my intuition and let go of my fears. For me, this course has pushed me to allow my inner child to emerge and learn and grow and play. And I’m happy to let her out!  Tesi Vaara

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2019 9:38 am

    Congratulations Tesi! I have so enjoyed getting to know you and seeing your work progress. Your sense of color and pattern is wonderful and I do love Coco’s portraits. Hope to get back out to see you soon.

    • Tesi permalink
      April 18, 2019 11:03 pm

      I hope we can meet again. It was a wonderful journey. Glad you have been a part of it!

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    April 18, 2019 12:51 pm

    Vibrant work! Congratulations!

  3. Bill Tilley permalink
    April 18, 2019 7:07 pm

    Happy you found your inner child and set her free.

Leave a comment