Skip to content

Learning Has Been a Life Long Habit…Guest Blogger – Isabel Parker

August 5, 2017

Level 4 Studies in Stitch and Multi-media (Turquoise) Blog 3 in this  series.

My formal schooling did not include any art courses so I started at the Gail Harker Centre for Creative Arts with almost no background of knowledge in the subject.  I think I even failed glue that first year!    But Gail is a fabulous teacher and was able to educate, encourage and challenge me to the point that, in spite of myself, I was producing art.   What a revelation!

With the help of Gail’s wonderful assistant, Penny Peters, and the support of my classmates, I have persevered through the last nine years to get here.  It feels amazing to have finally gained my Diploma in Experimental Stitch and Multi-Media.

As the end of my course work approached I realized that I would never actually be finished.  Learning has been a life-long habit for me and I don’t see it being over just because my course work is done.  Gail and Penny have given me the basis upon which to develop my artwork and I look forward to experimenting with further themed studies in stitch. 

Taking these courses over so many years with Gail Harker has been a life changing experience.  If I knew how wonderfully fulfilling it was, I would have signed up years earlier!  If you are considering taking any courses, stop debating and do it.  You will never regret it!   Isabel Parker

Isabel took historical fashion Inspirations for her art theme and particularly enjoyed flowers and patterns. To see more of Isabel’s Research for Art and Design, have a look at one of her earlier blogs  by clicking on this link or place her name in the Search box on the right. Gail

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Lenarz permalink
    August 5, 2017 4:44 pm

    Congratulations, Isabell, on your achievement… I want to come up to visit sometime and do a stitch day!

    • Isabel Parker permalink
      August 5, 2017 8:04 pm

      Come on up anytime!

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    August 5, 2017 4:59 pm

    So happy you joined us for this journey of a lifetime! Congratulations on your beautiful work! Here’s to more stitching in your future!

  3. Barbara Fox permalink
    August 5, 2017 9:43 pm

    Congratulations on your wonderful work and diploma achievement. I was particularly entranced by your felted and stitched “jewels.” The exhibition was wonderful!

  4. August 6, 2017 6:45 pm

    Congratulations! I remember when we took level 1 machine embroidery together and the progression of your work is amazing. Love the pomegranate theme too!

  5. Peggy Doyle permalink
    August 8, 2017 5:37 am

    Hi Isabel – Congratulations! Beautiful work and I especially enjoy the felted jewels suspended in the acrylic box! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

