Skip to content

Obsessed with Making an Art Quilt – Guest Blogger: Debra Jusak

July 20, 2017

Studies in Design and Experimental Hand Stitch Level 2 – Name: Lisianthus   Blog 3 

I love fabric, textiles, and color and began making quilts a few years ago, traditional designs but with more contemporary color combinations. Stumbling upon art quilts I became obsessed with wanting to make one. I realized I didn’t have much background for making sense of the techniques that I read in magazines and books. An exhibit of Gail’s student’s level 4 work at the La Conner Quilt Museum led me to a talk she gave about her students and classes, and here I am today. I began with the Level I Color Studies class and learned and loved the class so much, I continued on with Experimental Machine Stitch and Experimental Hand Stitch. Now, finishing up Level II I have learned a number of skills, techniques, and perspectives to use in continuing to make quilts, hopefully some of which will be art quilts.  Debra Jusak

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Gilbert permalink
    July 20, 2017 7:10 am

    Debra, your work is magical!
    Barbara Gilbert

  2. July 20, 2017 7:31 pm

    Beautiful work!

  3. Penny Peters permalink
    July 20, 2017 8:20 pm

    Congratulations! Your work is lovely!

Leave a Reply

