Skip to content

Looking at Orange

January 23, 2017
tags: ,

I first discovered that color was a cultural phenomena, when we moved to Scotland and then England in the seventies from Canada.  I was swept into a darker world with granite buildings, overcast skies, neutralized soft greens and heathers and people dressed in dark colors. The subtlety of the colors escaped me until I learned to see and understand neutrals.  Once in England I made the mistake of wearing a bright orange dress to college.   My friend mentioned kindly to me that orange was over the top as a fashion color in England. Later in the nineties when we moved to America, I was awestruck by the mountains of orange pumpkins piled high in front of the grocery stores in October. Indeed there were bright colors of orange that met me at every turn. I had an aha moment about colors that surround  people in their every day environment and how it affects them.  Orange is still one of the raciest, lightest brightest colors – from pale to warm and then pulsatingly hot. Notice how the complementary blues or near complementary color in the photos reacts with the orange. Or how the analogous colors of yellow and red flow smoothly together with orange. Thanks to our students for some of the beautiful images. Click on each one to see full credits and the loveliness of each piece.  Gail Harker   

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    January 23, 2017 6:13 am

    I feel very comfortable in the midst of all of this orange…

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    January 23, 2017 8:00 pm

    Stunning Color! I love your color blogs focusing on variations of one color! Orange is especially warm and cozy!

  3. January 23, 2017 8:06 pm

    These Looking at color posts are great, love all the variety of orange on a cold day.

  4. Annemarie Andresen permalink
    January 28, 2017 1:37 pm

    What a delightful color. Orange reminds me of autumn and Halloween.
    Love your color blogs Gail.

Leave a Reply

