Skip to content

Looking at White

December 30, 2016

This is the first blog in a series about Looking and Thinking about Color

It is amazing to me how my own perception of color changes over time as must others. I find that the more I look at color, the more acutely I can see it and see small nuances of change within it.  Here is a short dialogue that I have with myself as I am looking: White is usually surrounded by other colors and rarely seen as a solid block of white. Other colors either shadow it, highlight it or surround it. Since white is the lightest of any color, it contrasts not only with the palest of colors but also with the darkest.  As you are looking through these photos of artwork, look for pink, yellow, blue, green, grey and black.  I have seen that people often remember good and bad experiences by a color and then retain that feeling of a color over a lifetime.  How do you remember color? How can you create new color memories to become a better artist?? Place your cursor over the photo to read the caption and click on a photo to make it larger.  Thanks to our students for use of some of their images of white.   Gail Harker

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    December 30, 2016 6:10 am

    It really is amazing how many different colors you can see in the first photo. So white is a myriad of shades, tints, tones and neutrals. Glorious color and pattern in all of the photos. Thank you for sharing, Gail. Happy New Year!

  2. December 30, 2016 6:55 am

    What a lovely exploration of white and wonderful art from your guest bloggers.

  3. Mical Middaugh permalink
    December 30, 2016 7:01 am

    Thoroughly enjoyed the photos, especially those around the barn home! I took a couple of photos there of the rain on the side window of my car having been wind blown. Another in the raindrops category. Thank you, Gail and Happy rest of the Holidays!

  4. Diane Mularz permalink
    December 30, 2016 12:34 pm

    I am fascinated by the ice patterns

  5. Penny Peters permalink
    December 30, 2016 6:32 pm

    Gail, Thank you so much for this blog! As I clicked through each photo and small photo I was amazed not only at the color, but the framing, composition, subject–all so interesting. I could study these photos for an art education! Lovely to see Don’s food too! Thank you. Thank you.

  6. December 31, 2016 6:24 pm

    Wonderful set of photos, inspiring me to use more white. Happy New Year!

  7. Ann Darling permalink
    January 2, 2017 7:08 pm

    Wishing you a year of wonderful adventures, good health and many joys Gail. I always enjoy your thought provoking posts. Thank you for the time it takes to compose these. I appreciate the time spent and the intention. Always inspiring.

  8. Ann Darling permalink
    January 2, 2017 7:09 pm

    PS: Don’s cake looks like the ultimate Pavlova!!!! (Australian dessert for those who don’t know.)

  9. Maria Patrizzi permalink
    January 4, 2017 1:27 am

    I so much enjoy your thots about white, as a color. It especially influences us in our houses , our wall colors, the subtleties. I live amongst a lot of trees, so there’s so much green reflection. So I’ve found I need a bit of pink in my white wall to counteract that. To make it feel warm, and to work with art on walls. Great thots, Gail!

Leave a Reply

