Skip to content

My Textile Art Journey has Been Like a Roller Coaster Ride – Guest Blogger: Pauline Oakey

October 3, 2016

Autumn Exhibition – Blog #6  –  Level 3 Advanced Studies in Experimental Stitch – Asters

So, here I am at the end of Level 3 design and experimental stitch, with both relief and admiration for the journey.  When I first saw some of Gail’s student’s work over 12 years ago, I was blown away by the high standard of artistry and stitching skills.  Never I thought, could I achieve those heights of artistry and skill of stitch.  It took me nearly two years to pluck up the courage to take one of the many courses offered.  Now, over ten years later I have arrived at the beginning of another journey.  I have gained so many different skills, that I have to go back over my notes to jog my memory.  And then there are all the variations of each technique.  I’m looking forward to trying out many experiments in the near future.  My journey has been like a roller coaster ride.  Some frustrating moments, which have been offset by some rewarding accomplishments.

Fabric art may come naturally to some, but most of us have had to push ourselves and cope with the failures before finding the successes.  I look forward to many more rewarding hours and days creating in the medium that I love!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    October 3, 2016 5:13 pm

    Congratulations, Pauline. Your exhibit was beautiful!

  2. October 3, 2016 10:54 pm

    Wonderful! I especially like the machine stitched scarf.

Leave a Reply

