Skip to content

Artwork with Cobwebs and Prisms…… Guest Blogger: Marti Oppenheimer

September 3, 2016

Summer Exhibition Blog #7    Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Lantana

Two years!  Where did the time go?  I’ve worked with many new medium for me – coloured pencils, acrylics, printmaking blocks, stencils, ink on yupo paper, gels, and oil pastels.  Worked with brushes, paper towels, cardboard, cloth, sprays, blower, scissors, scrapers, combs, etc. to “create effects”. Studied  “my eyes out” with projects on trees, rocks, and water. Been motivated by Gail’s demos, suggestions and insights!  I’ve enjoyed using my coloured pencils and oil pastels.  My macro photographs of cobwebs and the prisms created have inspired me.  Overall, I have enjoyed the creativity required to do “homework”, using new medium and seeing the varied results – not only my own but other students!  And now, the two years is almost up and I have boxes of art supplies, books filled with work, and wonder what direction I will go in?

If you’d like to know more about this course here is a link to the description and next entry of Level 3 Studies Art and Design. The only qualification required is Level 1 Color. Level 1 Color is a 5 day course coming up at the studio  or you can study Color online.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    September 3, 2016 8:36 pm

    Marti your colors are such an inspiration! Congratulations!

  2. Peggy Doyle permalink
    September 4, 2016 4:59 am

    Love your subtle sense of color Marti especially the way you place colors next to each other or blend them together!

  3. Christina Fairley Erickson permalink
    September 4, 2016 4:56 pm

    It was such a pleasure getting to know you, Marti, and I look forward to seeing you more in the future. Your photography is incredible and I think you really broke a barrier with your artistic interpretations of your spider webs. Congratulations & hugs.

  4. September 5, 2016 2:07 am

    Wow, I love these!

  5. Gloria Shelton permalink
    September 7, 2016 1:32 am

    Your photographs show just how important capturing and interpreting an image can be. You see into and beyond the surface of the image. Great work!

Leave a Reply

