Skip to content

Images in My Expressionist Artwork…. Guest Blogger – Peggy Doyle

September 1, 2016

Summer Exhibition Blog #6       Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Lantana

I’ve learned many skills this past two years – the most important has been to look closely and deeply at an image. Cropping images for a new view of nature is great inspiration. My hopes for myself were to learn to use color in brighter and lighter ways and to bring recognizable images into my expressionist work. The practice of working with color studies, documenting my work, and keeping sketchbooks have helped reach those goals.

 I was very inspired by the wisteria growing on our deck at home. It provided an opening to colors I hadn’t used before and the changing seasons gave endless images to work with. Artist studies were a new delight as I learned to look for and identify specific elements in their work. It became a gateway into understanding what I found moving in an Artist’s work. I know that I will continue to use these practices in the future as I continue to grow as an artist.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gloria Shelton permalink
    September 1, 2016 4:20 pm

    I have shared this journey from Color Theory to Level III Art and Design with Peggy and she has become a friend, as well as an inspiration. Her encouragement has been very important to me. Our expeditions in search of art supplies have been mini-epics and a great boost to the local economy! I love the oriental esthetic that she brings to all her work: it can be sparse and rich at the same time. There is always more than meets the eye.

    • Peggy Doyle permalink
      September 4, 2016 4:52 am

      So sweet thank you Gloria!

  2. annihunt permalink
    September 1, 2016 5:18 pm

    Beautiful Peggy!

  3. Penny Peters permalink
    September 1, 2016 7:22 pm

    Congratulations, Peggy. Great creative energy here!

  4. September 1, 2016 8:46 pm

    It’s been so wonderful being in class with you and seeing you develop as an artist, Peggy. Your thoughtful approach to design and color and texture experimentation has been very inspirational!

  5. September 1, 2016 10:18 pm

    Love your take on wisteria!

  6. Marti Oppenheimer permalink
    September 4, 2016 11:49 pm

    Have watched you learn and combine techniques using acrylics, printmaking, stencils, and texture to make your wonderful collages with a hint of “oriental”. And seeing your wisteria theme worked into so much of your work. Very enjoyable

Leave a Reply

