Skip to content

My Focus on the Language and Vocabulary of Art and Design……….Guest Blogger – Christina Fairley Erickson

August 28, 2016

Summer Exhibition Blog #5        Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Lantana 

Years ago, I studied marine biology and oceanography.  As an avid scuba diver, some of my favorite places were Monterrey Bay’s kelp forests and the vast varieties of beautiful seaweeds swaying in the underwater current around the San Juan Islands.  Revisiting this passion inspired my theme.  I’ve explored a broad range of techniques to depict seaweeds and kelp, including painting, collage, handmade paper casting, block printing, machine embroidery and more.  Through the processes we learned – making multiple design prospects before choosing your composition, as well as testing out colors, techniques and materials- Iwas able to explore my pieces more deeply and achieve a higher standard in my artwork.  Rather than just accepting the way I expected to make something, I questioned, looked, and reworked pieces throughout the whole time I was making them.  The critical thinking skills used in making design decisions helped me move my pieces beyond a point where I previously would have stopped my work, giving me a finished piece which expresses my artistic vision more completely.

Learning how to study other artists’ work opened a door to new appreciation for different genres and helped me see both master artists and contemporary art with an affinity I hadn’t felt before.  Perhaps my favorite exercise in the class, I know I will continue looking at artwork with a more critical and appreciative eye, increasing my enjoyment and understanding.

Through the last two years, I’ve focused on learning the language and vocabulary of art and design.  I appreciate all that I’ve learned and know that my new understanding has opened up a vast wealth of ways to continue my artistic expression and way of seeing the world as a whole.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2016 10:22 pm

    Lovely work, I especially like the collaged bird

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    August 28, 2016 11:29 pm

    Your lovely designs are inspiring! You words exactly capture the work of an artist: to research, to look, to design, to redesign and to resign again. Thank you for your thoughtful insights, and congratulations!

  3. Karen permalink
    August 28, 2016 11:49 pm

    Beautiful and inspiring work….and message!

  4. Peggy Doyle permalink
    September 1, 2016 8:26 am

    It’s so interesting to see the photos of your work like this. Can really see the watery flowing movement of the seaweed in most of your pieces.Love the blue and green vessel!

  5. Gloria Shelton permalink
    September 1, 2016 4:53 pm

    What these few beautiful photos can’t capture is the shear volume of Christine’s work and how much time and effort she puts into it. She seems to have found more hours in the day and spent them all on wonder-full art! Sea weeds will never look the same to me after her exploration of them in all their beauty.

  6. Marti Oppenheimer permalink
    September 5, 2016 12:20 am

    The energy and creativity that Christina has exhibited in her work amazes me. Always incorporating new principles and techniques with her interests. Her generosity of “self” helping with explanations – or comments is something that I really appreciated.

Leave a Reply

