Skip to content

A Scientist’s Approach to Design – Guest Blogger: Gloria Shelton

August 27, 2016

Summer Exhibition Blog 4        Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Lantana 

As a scientist by inclination and education, everything in this course was new to me. Not fully understanding what was required of me has been frustrating,  I have tried to approach much of the work as “play.” The media sampling processes, the relationship of color and shape and the creation of pleasing compositions have been challenging and satisfying.

 I have loved pansies all my life. So spending more time with them was enjoyable. As each new technique or concept was presented, I applied it to pansies. My husband and I have vacationed in the Hawaiian Islands and each time I am inspired by the many shapes and colors of the lush foliage.

Cutting paper into various shapes and weaving strips of paper into colorful creations satisfy my need for tactile experience. Block printing is the most exciting process for me. The design and cutting of the block brings together the mental and tactile process. Once created the block is a tool that can be used again and again, producing a different result each time by changing the material to which it is applied.

 Fabric is my first love and I plan to take every technique that I have learned here and use it on fabric. The design concepts and documentation process will support me in these efforts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Peggy Doyle permalink
    August 27, 2016 10:59 pm

    Hi Gloria it’s nice to see your color palette in a photo series-it gives a new perspective on your color choices. Very light and delicate! Good luck with the pansy pursuit!

  2. August 28, 2016 10:23 pm

    I too like your color palette. And the woven patterns are beautiful.

  3. September 1, 2016 8:48 pm

    Congratulations, Gloria- You really took paperweaving to a new height!

  4. Marti Oppenheimer permalink
    September 5, 2016 12:03 am

    Have enjoyed watching you transform your “technical” inclination into creative designs. Seeing you “run with colours and designs” influenced by your Hawaiian trip – your textured and cut out leaves are terrific.

Leave a Reply

