Skip to content

Artist Crow Study… Guest Blogger: Marilyn Olsen

August 22, 2016

 Summer Exhibition Blog 3         Level 3 Art and Design – Lantana

I was probably the only kid in my high school who actually really liked doing term papers, which turned out to be a very good thing not only through college and graduate school, but also in my life as an artist.  It is research that generally leads to my choice of topic.  I am fascinated by the work of others, and when I see something that intrigues me, a study follows. Where did the artist get the idea for that piece?  Was he or she influenced by the work of other artists? If so, who? What techniques and materials did he or she use? How can I use what I’ve learned about that artist in my own work?  My study of crows has been very inspiring.  I have been able to study them up close and personal right in my neighborhood.  They also fascinate all kinds of learned scientists, so there has been much to read about why crows do what they do. Thanks to my physicist husband, I have also had many dinner time conversations about Isaac Newton, Daniel Bernoulli and how crows fly.  My artist study in this session of paper artist, Nikki McClure inspired me to get out the scissors and black paper.  And I was, of course, greatly inspired by Gail and the work of my fellow classmates.  Gee, I could probably write a term paper about all this now!  Marilyn Olsen

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    August 22, 2016 4:34 am

    Oh Marilyn, these are wonderful. The simplicity and the contrast has drawn me in. Your paper cutting truly tells the story!

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    August 22, 2016 3:42 pm

    What a delightful illustrated story! Every morning when I put out stale bread for the fellowship of crows that live here I delight in their intelligence and agility. Such jolly fellows. You’ve captured them beautifully. Congratulations!

  3. Peggy Doyle permalink
    August 23, 2016 5:53 pm

    I really enjoyed your black and white paper cuttings – and the blue green and yellow crow is very striking in the photo.
    Hope you publish some day!

  4. August 23, 2016 8:01 pm

    What a lovely illustrated story, your time in research has really paid off.

  5. Gloria Shelton permalink
    September 1, 2016 4:48 pm

    Marilyn and I share a love of crows and of cutting paper. She has captured their elegance and playfulness.

  6. September 1, 2016 8:51 pm

    Marilyn, your artwork captures your humor and playfulness – two of the things I love about you. I know that working in black and white was a different experience for you, but you pulled it off beautifully. I’m looking forward to seeing where you go next in stitch!

  7. Marti Oppenheimer permalink
    September 4, 2016 11:23 pm

    The patience you displayed cutting and recutting your “personality” crows – and the “cleanness” of each page’s design is terrific. Well done and hope that one day you’ll not only have copies for your grandchildren but that a publisher will pick it up and “let those crows fly”!

Leave a Reply

