Skip to content

Tulips and Color in the Skagit Valley

April 3, 2016

There are miles and miles of tulips surrounding us again this year.  Here’s a blog with text and photos that I did in 2014.

This week I have been totally saturated with COLOR – first in the classroom with acrylics and then a drive down the road to Roozengaarde Flower and Bulbs fields to take in all of the flowers  – especially the tulips. What an explosion of Color. It was enough to take my breath away.  Color can have that effect on you.  I can even smell the flowers by looking at the photos .  Ok,  my imagination is really well developed!  This weekend there is lots of tulip mania going on in neighboring areas. La Conner, being one such destination. I was standing near a group of people and I overheard a conversation that went something like this: I don’t understand why people think this is so great. There are just miles and miles of the same thing – flowers.  I moved quickly away so I wasn’t tempted to turn around and deliver my lecture on How to Look and  See as an Artist.  Well sometimes words fall on deaf ears, don’t they?   Thanks to  Roozengaarde Flowers and Bulbs for all of the imagination and hard work for an incredible art show and to provide photographic opportunities.  This is the closest we may ever experience of being immersed in the art form itself.  I hope you will get to see the flowers, but if not, enjoy the photos!   Gail

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    April 3, 2016 4:13 am

    Simply breathtaking!

  2. vikeysharma permalink
    April 3, 2016 4:59 am

    Wonderful and Lovely flowers, Great Photography..!!

  3. Diane M permalink
    April 3, 2016 1:00 pm

    Thank you for sharing the glorious colors of nature. Especially since I will probably never get to see them in person.

  4. April 3, 2016 3:07 pm

    My daffodils aren’t even blooming yet. Gorgeous photos.

  5. Barbara Fox permalink
    April 3, 2016 6:50 pm

    Amazingly colorful!

Leave a Reply

