Skip to content

Playing with Felt – Guest Blogger Valerie Stein

March 10, 2016

It’s been a real pleasure, now that I’m nearly fully recovered from shoulder surgery, to get back to the felting table. I’ve been essentially sidelined for a couple of years, and for someone like me, who has always had some sort of textile project close at hand, it’s been a long wait.

I left some larger pieces midstream when the heavy finishing became too much for me, and they’re still waiting for my return. My re-entry into feltmaking has been with a mind to playfulness, as I work on some ideas using felt as illustration in a couple of children’s book concepts. With that in mind, I’m spending my time messing about with small experiments in color on color, stitched textures, and fast, fun ways to make collections of elements for manipulation, experimentation, and application to many scales of work.

I’m enjoying creating collections of felt cords to twist and knot together, watching how they dangle and swing. I’ve remembered the joy of felt balls of all sizes, playing with new sculptural techniques for creating pops of color and form. I am approaching some tried and true items with new eyes, and it’s very refreshing and inspiring for me as I rebuild stamina and my hands remember their place in the wool.

I’m very much looking forward to sharing some of this playfulness with you when I teach a brand new class at Gail’s studio in mid-April, called Stitch, Twist and Roll: Feltmaking and Color Play. You can catch a sneak peek soon, as I’ll be demonstrating at the Center’s Open House on April 2nd from 1-5. You can also tour the studio, talk with Artists in Residence, and view the always amazing exhibits of visual and stitched art.

It’s an honor and a thrill to be back in the studio, which has been home to me, one way and another, for nearly 20 years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2016 9:28 pm

    Looks like fun!

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    March 11, 2016 6:54 am

    Beautiful texture and color.

Leave a Reply

