Skip to content

Tasselmaking from a Rich Heritage

November 23, 2015

My introduction to Tassel making came when I lived and studied in England.  Most historic houses had a wealth of tassels in their interiors, either on curtains or on other elaborate items.  Fashion garments sometimes had tasteful? tassels on them.  It was not uncommon to see extremely elaborate tassels associated with embroidered bags that held historic embroidered books. The making and use of tassels has roots in many European countries in addition to many other countries.  The use of tassels goes back for centuries and can also be associated with the word Passementerie.  I suppose this rich heritage may be the reason for its entrance into the City & Guilds curriculum where we taught tasselmaking, cordmaking and the creation of beautiful buttons under the heading of Embellishments.  The  tassel had become a work of Art in its own right.   It was fun for me to recently run a Tasselmaking course at the studio once again.  I was able to use the tasselmaking frames that I had manufactured here for making  parts of the tassel by sewing machine. Each one of my students received a Tasselmaking book  that I had published some years ago showing how to make original tassels by hand and machine. Every time I make a tassel, I give it a name.  I have included some photos of tassels that the students made in this class as well as a few I have made.  Have a look!  Gail

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Hanson permalink
    November 23, 2015 7:16 pm

    Thank you Gail for the interesting background and pictures. I just borrowed a book from a library on making tassels so ,,, how timely.

  2. November 24, 2015 12:33 am

    Loved seeing those Barbie brushes again – they make me smile. The group looks like they are having a great time making beautiful tassels.

Leave a Reply

