Skip to content

I Wrought This By Hand… Guest Blogger- Linda Pauw

November 14, 2015

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I’ve been collecting “bits and pieces” for years.  When I heard about Martha Cole’s Collage Plus class, I eagerly signed up.  I wanted to learn more about adhesives, transfers and other techniques.  This was my first class at Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts and, of course, as all other students who have taken classes here, this class went far beyond my expectations.  It was an absolute delight!

I learned so much from Martha through her examples, step-by-step techniques, wonderful teaching style, and inspiration.  The whole atmosphere was inspiring, working among a group of other talented artists.  We made beautiful collages on our own hand-painted papers and fabrics, turning these into book cloth and pages.  Martha then showed us how to bind them into a small book and a larger book, including all our various styles of “pocket” pages.  She left us with so many more ideas of what we can do with collage and bookbinding.

Other class participants responded enthusiastically as well.  Some of their comments were:  instant gratification in making beautiful paper and fabric to work with to create our books;  a freedom to take previous art and collaging them into fresh, new works;  ideas were flowing–use of one’s own photographic images and integrating them with papers, fabric, and paint into a cohesive collage;  “ugly” fabrics morphed into beautiful creations; an inspiration to use heirloom family treasures from old linens, stitched embroidery to a mother’s poetry.  One participant got her inspiration from an old Irish embroidered book where the seamstress had stitched,  “I wrought this by hand.”

I love that quote and found it to be very fitting.  I am pleased with what “I wrought by hand” in this class.  I know it is only the beginning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    November 14, 2015 11:18 pm

    I loved the class too, and I enjoyed being tabled partners with you, Linda. I have already started to draw into the little pamphlet book we made, mine collaged with torn strips of my own photographs of tafoni rocks.

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    November 14, 2015 11:21 pm

    Hi Gail,

    The photos don’t show up in your email, but they do when I go to the blog. Also no links to put on Facebook either in the email or blog. Not sure what is going on with that? P

  3. November 16, 2015 10:36 pm

    Great blog, Linda! It was such a great class. Your work and everyone’s so unique and so beautiful. The generous and giving artistic support is what makes Gail Harker Creative Center so very special.

  4. November 16, 2015 10:50 pm

    It looks like everyone was really having fun. Thanks for the information about the class.

Leave a Reply

