Skip to content

From Analysis to Visualization….Guest Blogger – Angie Alexander

August 29, 2015

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design –  Calendula Exhibition

Angies’s photos and statement below complete the Calendula Design group’s exhibition in July 2015. Congratulations to all of the students. Gail

In spite of my experience as an occasional quilt-maker, studying color theory in the course prerequisite to this art and design,  gave me my first serious art study since the required course I had in the 8th grade.  My experience in this Art and Design Course has been both a challenge and a joy.  I was reminded how it felt to be a beginner at something, and I am strengthened by the fact that I can keep learning new things effectively.  In this course, I especially enjoyed the color studies of various types, working with shapes, and the design projects.

The theme for my design projects grew out of my 50 years of professional work as a microbiology teacher and researcher.  I have always been interested in the marriage of structure and function in living organisms, including the variety of microbial shapes and their naturally occurring arrangements.  The functional architecture of the microbes has complexity created by the use of simple forms. The designs developed here have been primarily about using the simple microbial forms as modules for creating more complex designs.  This has been balanced somewhat by the equally interesting process of using images that show detailed microbial structures and extracting the components as elements of design. 

I am interested in further study of the uses of acrylic paints and media as well as working with colored pencils (including the water-soluble pencils and ink blocks) on both paper and fabric.    I plan to apply my knowledge to designing and producing art quilts.

During these courses I was surprised in two ways.  I notice more details in the things I see than I thought I did.  I became more aware of the feeling of shifting from thinking to imagining.  I’m not surprised I can make the shift from analysis to visualization, because I’ve done that frequently as a scientist.  How it felt was surprising.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    August 29, 2015 5:45 pm

    Congratulations, Angie, in taking your life’s work and exploring in new ways. Learning about color is so exciting. Your artwork reflects that!

  2. August 30, 2015 9:16 pm

    It is wonderful to keep learning. We could all study color for a very long time and still learn new things! Looks like you are on a wonderful journey.

Leave a Reply

