Skip to content

Entranced by Designs and Patterns on Butterfly Wings – Guest Blogger: Nancy Drake

August 15, 2015

Level 3 Art and Design Exhibition – Calendula

I came to this Art & Design class through a life-long dalliance with fabrics, threads, yarns, and color, with a bit of stained glass, silver, gem stones, and pottery thrown in for more fun.

A few years ago, through a couple of friends, I discovered Gail’s classes. Having no formal art background, I took a leap and signed up for Level 1 Hand Stitch. Then came Machine Stitch, and then Level 2 Hand & Machine Stitch. In those classes, I learned much about stitches, fabrics, threads, dyeing, color and design. I knew I needed to take the next step with the Art & Design class.

This class took me away from fabrics and stitching for awhile and exposed me to a world of texture, color, and design through acrylic paints, mediums, papers, stencils, and block prints. I’m also learning to study an object or a photo, even a rug or a piece of fabric, and pull out design elements that can become part of new art.

When I look back at all my work, I’m often amazed: I did that – not bad! I can see growth in my use of design elements in a range of activities, from a color study of a rock to creating bark texture with acrylic mediums.

One of my favorite activities in this class was the circle study, where circles turned up everywhere. And one of my favorite pieces of work is a paper collage that used a Blue Ravine clematis flower for inspiration.

Two of the most important things I’ve adopted from the course are sampling and record keeping. What a difference it’s made for me to not be stuck wondering how I did something. I can actually look it up and refer to it in another project, if desired.

While relooking at all my photos and books, I chanced on a book of butterflies and moths. I was immediately entranced by the designs and patterns on their wings. I had my theme.

My fabric art will be enriched by what I have learned in the past 2 years and I plan to continue exploring with all the materials we’ve been using. There is no end to this journey.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    August 15, 2015 3:32 pm

    Hi Nancy, I enjoyed your butterfly designs during the exhibition, and it is a pleasure to see them again.. Congratulations.

  2. August 15, 2015 5:07 pm

    Great designs Nancy! I wish I could have been there for your exhibition but it looks like it was a success.

Leave a Reply

