Skip to content

There is No Turning Back….Guest blogger: Cathy Glover

July 18, 2015

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Calendula Exhibition

I first took a class with Gail when she lived in Calgary. We made “wild and wooly” pictures by doing embroidery stitches onto rug canvas and made a giant parrot sculpted over wire, pieced in satin and with machine quilted wings and eye markings.  I can recall my disappointment when she left town because I was learning so much.   Many years have passed since then, and as I have focused more on work and less on creative pursuits, I have felt an inner tension; a need to create and a desire to do so on my own, without following a pattern or a teacher’s design. Fortunately Gail and Don have settled back in this part of the world and the opportunity existed to once again learn from her. As we have played with lines, texture, painting and printing I have been able to explore how to create my own design and the many different tools and processes to use to express myself.  The opportunity to play with different mediums has helped to balance the stress in other parts of my life and I am thankful for the support that Gail and others in the class have provided along the way. This program has opened new doors and new ways of seeing, and there is no going back. That creative tension still exists, but now I have tools to address it!  Cathy

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    July 18, 2015 3:26 am

    Congratulations, Cathy. It was an inspiring exhibit!

  2. July 18, 2015 4:11 pm

    wonderful art work

  3. July 18, 2015 4:34 pm

    What wonderful color schemes! I especially like the last one 🙂

  4. Barbara Fox permalink
    July 19, 2015 8:51 pm

    Your color schemes are so vibrant. And your work with paper is delicious! Congratulations on your presentation.

Leave a Reply

