Skip to content

Wanderlust….Guest Blogger – Maria Winner

May 30, 2015

Level 4 Experimental Stitch and Multi Media – Opals Exhibition

It is through artist’s eyes that I view life. I have become a wanderlust at heart, always finding treasures along the way. I find myself always wondering how I would visually relate what I find of interest at the moment. What fibers might capture the texture? What colors will bring it to life? What stitches might reflect the design, movement, or shape? It is through fibers and stitch that I attempt to resolve this passion. 

As a small child my mother taught me to sew, embroider and play with scissors. I have been studying this media and going for it ever since.
One of the wonders of life is that we all see things differently. It is our own personal histories that help us determine what is beautiful, meaningful and stirs up our passions. Travel has greatly influenced my view of the world. Whether I am wandering on another continent, floating down a river in the US, or riding my bike across the Black Hills country of the midwest, my travels have introduced me to treasures in the people I meet, the rocks I find, and the eddies that I kayak through.  It isn’t only the “amazing” that delights me. I observe both the beauty and the irony in finding a tiny flower that lives in the crevices, the virus as it grows and morphs, and the foresaken pail literally rusted to pieces. Wanderlust is my theme.

This artwork has become a visual reflection of my wanderlust being. As I look to the future, I think I will once again return to focusing on the minute. I never cease to be amazed at the unexpected beauty found in such things as viruses and the irony of that finding. Whatever my subject matter, my art will reflect the unexpected within it. Maria

This is the last blog from the Opals class   Gail

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    May 30, 2015 9:48 pm

    What imaginative and diverse work you accomplished. Just back from Russia, I am resonating with your wanderlust theme! Congratulations.

  2. May 31, 2015 1:56 am

    What an interesting collection of work – great theme and impressive stitching.

  3. Ann Darling permalink
    June 6, 2015 12:21 am

    I particularly enjoyed your “views” of travelling and have to admit you have really given me food for thought about interpreting travels of my own – other than with color pencils, a pen and paper! Thanks for sharing your work – very inventive and imaginative.

Leave a Reply

