Skip to content

Stitches, Color and Texture are Powerful…. Guest Blogger – Deborah Zibrik

May 17, 2015

Level 4 Experimental Stitch and Multi Media

My initiation to stitch followed Russian traditions, so that by preschool age my mother had directed my attention to learning the basics of hand embroidery along with a variety of needle arts since these were considered necessary future life skills for young women. Subscribing to the notion “that idle hands must be kept busy”, my needlework skills developed further throughout my adulthood and I completing hours of joyful stitching on a wide range of projects.  However I had often wondered about exploring my own creativity. My journey started with completing the short course in hand embroidery and a City and Guilds Certificate in Design from the Harker Creative Studies Center in 2003. Over the next ten years of part-time study at the Harker Center I have completed the requirements for a Diploma in Design and Stitch.  Each of the portfolio-based, tutor led courses gave me ample opportunities to explore the historical backgrounds of stitch and how they have been used in various cultures, added to the knowledge of basic principles of design and provided for opportunities to create examples of contemporary embroidery based on my own inspirations. As a fiber artist I have learned the discipline of a planned approach to develop pieces based on carefully planned designs and gained confidence through sampling ideas. I have also come to respect “the importance of doing” and have experienced that playing with stitch and fiber allows me to explore and develop ideas that I might not have known or considered in advance. I have learned that stitches and colour and texture are powerful and placing them in just the right places will help me tell the story. At present, nature provides most of my inspiration and lucky for me endless examples of natural beauty and wildness are just outside my doors. My recent pieces look to express the rich colours, patterns, textures, ambience and emotional experiences attached to the forests of the Pacific Northwest. My journey will continue since I want to stitch and make beautiful things that are special to me. I hope to further surprise myself and others with pieces that reflect the beauty around us.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2015 3:27 am

    What stunning work! I especially like the beadwork insects!!! Your stitchery is inspiring!

  2. May 18, 2015 5:51 pm

    I was lucky enough to visit the center this weekend and saw some of your pieces in person. They are gorgeous and I especially loved the ruched fabric one.

  3. pennypeters permalink
    May 21, 2015 9:55 pm

    What a diverse body of work you have accomplished! Having just returned from Russia, I can say that love of nature is truly part of the history and culture of artists past and present. Congratulations on your innovative work!

  4. Deborah permalink
    September 12, 2015 1:21 am

    Thank you all very much. I have enjoyed my time with the Harker Creative Studio- learned so much and yet know there is so much more to learn. It will be a continuing life-long endeavor. DZ

Leave a Reply

