Skip to content

Pattern in Early Celtic Art…Guest Blogger – Martha Kleihege

April 26, 2015

Level 4 Experimental Stitch and Multi Media Diploma – Opals Exhibition

I came to study with Gail searching for a way to learn how to express my unique artist voice.

Through the many techniques we have learned and experimented with I feel confident in my ability to do so.

My theme for the past 5 years has been Pattern with a focus on Early Celtic Art.  My designs have been influenced by the Celtic use of both geometric shapes and curves.  Color and texture have been used to suggest age and antiquity.

One of my goals for this class was to find a style of stitching that I would be excited to continue exploring in the future. I found my inspiration in the work of the artist Lissy Funk who created large abstract pieces by couching down different types of threads.  I am still experimenting with this technique in search of my personal style.

I am very grateful to Gail and Penny for providing a wonderful supportive atmosphere for learning and developing as an artist.  I treasure the many friendships I have developed along this journey.  My classmates have been both supportive and inspirational and I look forward to continuing our lifelong friendships as we move along our own artistic pathways.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    April 26, 2015 6:29 pm

    It is so inspiring to see your beautiful work again, Martha. What an inspiring journey you have taken us on. Congratulations!

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    April 27, 2015 2:58 am

    Your work is fantastic and so inspiring. Congratulations on your completion of this course.

  3. April 27, 2015 9:58 pm

    Gorgeous work!

  4. May 1, 2015 1:03 am

    This is so inspiring. It is incredible.

Leave a Reply

