Skip to content

Maps, Meridians and Measurement in Stitch… Guest Blogger – Jill Taylor

April 12, 2015

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Level 4 Experimental Stitch and Multi Media

Needlework runs in my family, and I loved embroidering from an early age.  Then I wanted to work from my own designs rather than following commercial patterns but had no idea how to start.  A chance conversation led me to contact the Center for Creative Studies and I enrolled for one class. The variety and depth of instruction I received has led to me continue studying through to an advanced level.

 I have most recently been working on a theme of “maps, meridians and measurement”, with a sub-text of hic sunt dracones (here be dragons) inspired by a visit to the Greenwich Observatory in London.  This became a theme of exploration and discovery, both within the subject matter and of the many different techniques and materials that enabled me to interpret the subject matter visually.  I have a great deal more material and ideas in my sketchbook to develop. 

 I have also become more philosophical during my studies and realize that my theme had become a metaphor for life.  Those mythical dragons we encounter on life’s path play with us at their pleasure, batting us around as we strive to follow a certain direction.  I am curious to see where they will send me next.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Darling permalink
    April 12, 2015 6:46 pm

    Oh what fun and beautiful work … with British Textiles just around the corner for me on an upcoming trip … your dragon and beasties fire up my imagination. Thank you for sharing.

  2. pennypeters permalink
    April 12, 2015 6:57 pm

    Congratulations! You have had an amazing journey in life, embroidery, and metaphore since you began at the Center years ago. It has been a pleasure to journey along side you, especially in the world of dragons!

Leave a Reply

