Skip to content

My People are Like Flowers – Guest Blogger: Susan Lenarz

April 10, 2015

Level 4 Experimental Stitch and MultiMedia Diploma – Opals Exhibition

My people are like flowers. No two are exactly alike, yet there are such similarities. I love to watch people and imagine how our lives fit into this beautiful world. I hope that my portraits convey both the uniqueness and universality of my human subjects. Over the last few Years I have taken my medieval studies into a more contemporary world. I have studied the artists Marc Chagall and Egon Schiele.

I have learned how to utilize vibrant colors and tonal values for depth and illumination. My work continues to be multi- layered and complex.

I am both excited and sad about completion of my diploma with Gail Harker. I have exceeded my initial goals of developing a keen eye for design, and skill in use of a textile based mixed media palette. I have gained so much from companionship and work with dedicated artists; both instructors and peers! I am very grateful for this rich artist’s journey and excited to carry these tools with me to my next great life adventure!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    April 10, 2015 10:23 pm

    Congratulations, Susan. I too find your people interesting, and I have unarticulated sotries about each of them that spring to mind again when I look at their pictures.

  2. clairebjones permalink
    April 11, 2015 5:42 pm

    Susan, stunning work. So sad I missed your exhibition. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

