Skip to content

The Glory of Books . . . Guest Blogger Sabrina Bradley

March 23, 2015

A selection of Books from Guest Tutor Chad Alice Hagen:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a time that I lived surrounded by Books, floor to ceiling they covered my walls.  A friend commented “I love coming to your house – it feels like I’m visiting T.S. Elliott”.  I have to admit that I’ve moved on from that phase – The books I read had to go to make room for the Books I wanted to fill.

I’m not alone – you know what I’m talking about . . . all shapes and sizes, sketchbooks, journals, and albums filled with incredible paper and ready to receive anything . . . just waiting – full of possibility – GLORIOUS!!

The only thing better than having a book is creating one: Many of our students at the center have first-hand experience with how rewarding this can be. If you’ve never considered making your own books I encourage to explore this incredible art form, and if you’ve already been bitten by the bookmaking bug we’ve got some great opportunities coming up to further your craft. Check out this upcoming course from book artist Chad Alice Hagen:

“And their Covers were Made of Textiles . . .” Beginning Book Binding, 26 – 30 June, 2015

About the class:

Ever wonder what to do with those beautiful scraps of fabric too precious to toss? Do you have a drawer full of samples from surface design and weaving classes, beautiful textiles found on your travels, stunning finds from a resale shop or even a small piece of cherished calico left over from grandma’s quilting days?

We will learn to make tea stained pages for a Perfect Bound Notebook; create a hard cover, flat opening Favorite Sketchbook; a colorful Concertina Coptic Bound Journal, learn to make pockets, envelopes and pull out maps for a Handsome Field Journal and if we have time, a sweet Needle Book to store those friendly tools.

You’ll learn all the steps of beginning book making from folding and tearing your own pages to transforming your own fabric into book covers to learning how to accept all the praise you’ll receive when you show your friends what you have made.

Most supplies furnished  – Perfect for all levels.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2015 6:09 pm

    Sabrina – you sound just like me. I don’t have enough shelves for all my sketchbooks now. Will have to clear out some of my “real” book shelves. This course looks wonderful and I wish I could take it but of course I want to take every course 🙂

  2. pennypeters permalink
    March 23, 2015 9:04 pm

    What an inspiring blog! And Chad Alice is just so much fun to be with! It is a perfect class for all levels. Thanks for sharing you inspiration!

Leave a Reply

