Skip to content

Repeat Patterns – Guest Blogger… Penny Peters

March 20, 2015

Tuning into Repeat Patterns

Last spring, almost like tuning a radio, I tuned my visual channel to the world of repeat patterns. Actually, all I did was to remind myself I wanted to build a photographic library of repeat patterns I saw in the world around me.   Once I had assigned myself the topic of repeat patterns, I was amazed to see them everywhere. I found patterns in the placement of stacked candy or shoes in shop windows, in buildings, stacked chairs, ripples in water, tiled walls, rolls of fabric, architectural details like balconies and fences, even in the skeleton of a snake.  Stopping to photograph the patterns became such a fun game, that I often had to hurry to catch our small group as we made our way through Spain.  My next assignment is to sift through my photos and choose a few patterns for design work in my sketchbook.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2015 5:01 am

    Lovely patterns.

  2. March 20, 2015 8:25 am

    Penny what a fun assignment to give oneself. Thanks for sharing you visual riches with us! Susan

  3. March 20, 2015 1:51 pm

    loved this!!!! Nancy

  4. clairebjones permalink
    March 20, 2015 2:42 pm

    Wonderful images Penny

  5. March 20, 2015 3:58 pm

    Wonderful way to find inspiration for a study in design. Thank you for sharing Penny!

  6. March 20, 2015 5:46 pm

    What fun – I hope you’ll show us your sketchbook design work.

  7. Barbara Fox permalink
    March 20, 2015 8:26 pm

    Wonderful patterns, Penny! They truly are everywhere. Thanks for sharing your images.

  8. Nancy Hanson permalink
    March 21, 2015 7:17 pm

    Great images, Penny. I remember you doing textures on one of our trips. You inspire me.

  9. Kathy Wesselius permalink
    April 5, 2015 9:40 pm

    These are very inspirational images – thank you for sharing your collection.

Leave a Reply

