Skip to content

Life Cycle of a Dandelion in Art – Guest Blogger – Wendy James

March 4, 2015

 

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Chocolate Flowers

Nature is my inspiration for just about everything. This led me to the dandelion – the omnipresent, often loathed but mostly ignored little plant seemed an intriguing subject.  Each day as I stepped out my back door to study the many examples in our lawn, I was delighted to discover just how little I knew of their remarkable life cycle.  I grew to love and admire this humble little plant as I had as a child.  The result of this exploration is my dandelion book.

This Level 3 course has been a great journey of learning and discovery, stretching me in ever new directions.  It has been fun to take off my bookkeeper hat and try on an artist’s cap.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2015 3:04 pm

    What a wonderful exploration of such a simple subject that most people pay no attention to except to pull or spray it. You found so much beauty in that lowly, little plant.

  2. pennypeters permalink
    March 4, 2015 4:56 pm

    Thank you for visually reminding me about my childhood love of dandelions. My sister and I would barefoot in the grass (just ahead of the hungry lawn mower) to collect the bright yellow flowers and and rub their pollen on our noses. And Congratulations!

  3. Barbara Fox permalink
    March 4, 2015 8:38 pm

    Your work is wonderful, Wendy. I loved watching how your work developed, all around the lowly dandelion. We now can think twice when we see one about ready to scatter…

  4. annihunt permalink
    March 4, 2015 8:52 pm

    Wonderful study! I’m sure it’s not over either.

Leave a Reply

