Skip to content

Hidden Beauty in Rocks…..Guest Blogger: Marilynn Olson

February 15, 2015

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Chocolate Flowers

The past two-and-a-half years have been a life changing journey. I now see what I’ve missed by not knowing how to look. I have learned how to see beyond the obvious and a world of awareness has dawned like a bright sunny day. Rocks and rock veins have captured my fancy, thanks to exposure of their beauty by a good friend and neighbor, who is a lapidary and metal smith jewelry artist who works exclusively with stunning and natural stone. Exotic rocks from around the world as well as the smooth time-worn beauty of beach rocks have created a feast for my eyes. Like most things in life, there is hidden beauty within if one just takes the interest to look for it. I will continue to explore textural ways for creative expression. I am most appreciative for the foundation I have received during this course and for Gail opening my eyes and my confidence for what can be accomplished by experiencing the world around me.   Marilynn       see 9 slides

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    February 15, 2015 11:11 pm

    Your work is beautiful, Marilynn. I’m so glad to have gotten to know you during this Level 3 course. Blessings to you.

  2. pennypeters permalink
    February 16, 2015 3:29 am

    You have captured the beauty in the concentric laying down of minerals and crystals over eons. It seems like you have captured time and beauty on paper! Magical! Congratulations!

  3. Maurice Ehrlich permalink
    February 16, 2015 1:13 pm

    These are beautiful textures . The natural facets are like themes in a fugue that composite the whole into a visual, lush reality. Thank you for sharing your vision.
    Maurice

  4. February 16, 2015 11:52 pm

    I have a million photos of rocks, their texture, the colors etc. So I understand your fascination. Thanks for sharing your work with us.

  5. February 24, 2015 4:03 pm

    Marilyn I was so sorry to miss your exhibition. Glad to see your beautiful work on line. I love your color combinations and the variation of concentric circles to irregular rock shapes. Hurray for you! susan

Trackbacks

  1. Mother Nature, Finest Artist of all Time | Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts

Leave a Reply

