Skip to content

Capturing a Vision with Needles, Thread and Fabric….Guest Blogger… Nancy Scagliotti

February 3, 2015

Level 2 Studies in Design and Experimental Stitch – Bergamot

This is the last blog from level 2 Bergamot group. Watch for the graduates blogs from the Level 3 Studies in Art and Design coming up soon. Gail

Since most of my visual art work has been in painting and collage, the Experimental Stitch Level 2 course was a bit of a leap for me.  I wasn’t sure I could do it or even like it.  After volunteering as a host at the Level 4 Research and Design Exhibition, I decided to go for it.

The first two sessions left me overwhelmed and reeling, wondering if I could tackle the homework with any success.  Patience isn’t my greatest virtue.  Stitch requires a good deal of it.  Also, visually designing with cloth and thread requires a shift in perspective from painting, as well as a different pacing. Changing design decisions, such as, “Why not just paint it?” was the first big transition.

Happily I have learned so much about the origins and techniques of stitch with boundless options to learn more.  Needles, thread and fabric are now permanent tools in my journey to capture a vision.  My challenge and opportunity is to grow in skills and to meld technique with intuition… and find new ways to explore my environment in this rich world of textiles.    Nancy Scagliotti           see 9 slides

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    February 3, 2015 5:50 am

    Nancy, As I look at these slides I am struck by your color choices: red, green and a third color, sometimes yellow, sometimes violet. And then there is that serene blue landscape! Congratulations!

  2. February 3, 2015 11:39 pm

    Beautiful color schemes and textures!

  3. Nancy Hanson permalink
    March 21, 2015 7:30 pm

    I agree, Nancy. Stitch is a big leap from painting. Looks like you’re enjoying the process and landing well.

Leave a Reply

