Skip to content

Finding My Stitch Wings…Guest Blogger – Mary Martin

January 30, 2015

Level 2 Studies in Design and Experimental Stitch – Bergamot

I began my studies at the Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts after a long history of learning and doing very traditional embroidery and needlework with a strong emphasis on technical skills and only passing involvement with personal expression through stitch.  In my previous work, making the back of a piece look as tidy as the front took precedence over exploration of my creativity or finding my stitch wings.  A few years ago, a long time textile friend suggested we take Level 1 Machine class together, to which I agreed after some persistent, gentle persuasion.  Sitting around the table with my classmates the last day of that class, I felt every part of my being saying.”I need MORE of this!!  Five classes later, I’ve not only found my stitching wings, I also found myself on the journey of a personal passion I’ve been seeking all my life.  Classes at the Center have given me not just tools and techniques to experiment and to explore entirely new realms of creativity, but also I have the confidence to say to myself, What if? and then discover the creative heights to which that question can take me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    January 30, 2015 5:31 am

    And look at where that simple ‘what if’ question has taken you! Color, line, shape, texture have all become yours to play with. Congratulations!

  2. Brigitte permalink
    January 30, 2015 6:17 am

    What a wonder Kantha stitched bird you have there Mary! Actually all of your stitiching is exquisite and so creative!

  3. January 30, 2015 8:10 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to discover your passion? Beautiful work you have created.

Leave a Reply

