Skip to content

Growing as an Artist has Changed My Life… Guest Blogger… Marilyn Olsen

January 28, 2015

Level 2 Studies in Design and Stitch – Bergamot

A journey that began with a chance visit to the Shack Art Center has, to my surprise and delight changed not only everything I thought I knew about stitching but also the direction my life as an artist has taken.  Like many students, I am told I found it to be a not entirely smooth road.  Initial enthusiasm and gathering confidence eventually and perhaps inevitably turned, during Level Two into a crisis of that confidence which both Gail and Penny patiently and gently talked me through.  Both the initial enthusiasm and confidence are now back and I just can’t wait for all that lies ahead through the 300 and 400 levels.  Every day of every class brings new ideas and inspiration in a wonderfully nourishing and encouraging environment.  Growing as an artist has changed my life, giving focus and a sense of adventure to my work.  And perhaps, as important, the opportunity to have formed friendships with so many talented and generous new friends.    See  9 slides.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    January 28, 2015 5:53 am

    Wow! You pieces have incredible movement and happiness! They are little jewels of color. Congratulations.

  2. January 28, 2015 8:58 am

    What lovely work Marilyn. Some of your pieces remind me of Hundrrtwaser’ well done.

  3. Karen permalink
    January 28, 2015 3:09 pm

    I love the movement in the pieces, the color and the cheer! They exuded “JOY” as I looked at them!

  4. January 28, 2015 11:18 pm

    Aren’t Gail and Penny great? Always ready to help out with any crisis 🙂

Leave a Reply

