Skip to content

My Affinity for Color, Texture and Fiber…. Guest Blogger: Chris Goldburn

January 14, 2015

Level 2 Studies in Design and Experimental Stitch – Bergamot

I have had an affinity for color, texture and fiber all my life.  Level 2 Hand and Machine Stitch, along with the other courses I’ve taken at the Center, have given me the skills to create interpretations of my images (photos) and ideas in a way I’d never thought possible.  We’ve learned the process of design development from initial inspiration through execution, to final framing.  The depth of knowledge we’ve been give through Gail’s extensive experience and practice goes far beyond any other similar course work I’ve taken.  The content of my notes and (failing) memory about principles and practices will guide my work for years to come.

Working in a group and seeing others’ ideas take shape has broadened my own perspective.

When this is combined with the positive critiquing sessions that take place in each class, the depth of understanding of concepts and techniques is enhanced.

See 8 slides.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2015 3:53 pm

    I really like the Monet water scene. you have captured the moving water well. I like the way that you have created the soft blend as you see in his paintings. Linda Ingham

  2. January 14, 2015 4:41 pm

    wonderful pieces of art

  3. pennypeters permalink
    January 14, 2015 5:48 pm

    Congratulations, Chris. The lively line and color you have used to capture the out-of-doors really engages my attention. Hope to see more of your work in the future. Would love to see your travel photos in stitch!

  4. Barbara Fox permalink
    January 14, 2015 8:08 pm

    The Monet water piece is wonderful. The reflection is wonderfully captured in your stitches! Perspective is shown through the choice of thread. Well done and thank you for sharing.

  5. Maria Patrizzi permalink
    January 15, 2015 1:16 am

    Great work- the water could be continually studied! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

