Skip to content

The Art of Flora and Fauna in S.W. British Columbia – Guest Blogger: Wendy Mackinnon

November 22, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Level 4 Experimental Research for Advanced Design

My focus of study for Level 4 Experimental Design is the flora and fauna of the environment in southwest British Columbia.  My goals were to compare and contrast realistic and abstract approaches; to vary scale from small to large; and to become more comfortable working with acrylic mediums.

For a realistic approach I explored botanical art and enjoyed working small and with detail . . . definitely my comfort zone.  This area of work helped me to slow down and really learn to see.

My personal challenge was to find a way to work in larger scale.  Many experimental approaches (and sleepless nights) did not lead to the scale required.  When I finally realized that I needed to physically change my approach to working by mounting my canvas on the wall, to stand and use larger arm movements I was able to work to a larger scale. I limited most of my work to the use of various acrylic media – from inks, to fluids, and heavy body paints.  This helped me understand the different qualities of transparency and drying times and the benefits of good canvas preparation.  The program ensured that we were exposed to enough ideas and techniques to keep us growing in any direction that interested us.  One of the workshops within this program was focused on relief printing.  This generated a keen interest in exploring more printing techniques.  Another workshop focused on 3 dimensional cast paper forms.  Wendy Mackinnon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Burrows permalink
    November 22, 2014 6:10 am

    Wendy, good to see you and more of your lovely work

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    November 22, 2014 6:11 am

    Beautiful work Wendy! Your large scale botanicals are quite lovely.

  3. November 22, 2014 1:29 pm

    Wendy, the variation in your work is amazing. Not only did you vary your subject material but I love all the different mediums you explored. Hurray for you!

  4. pennypeters permalink
    November 22, 2014 5:45 pm

    What a range of work you have acheived. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

