Skip to content

Birds, Bugs and Beasts in an Art Environment…Guest Blogger Susan Sasnett

August 19, 2014

Level 4 Experimental Research for Advanced Design – Exhibition

At the end of a class series one is asked to reflect on the process in this artist statement.  This is the 4th time I have written one.  Each time I would remark on how much I have learned and certainly I have continued to grow in my understanding of art principals.  But in this class something shifted where I realized that it is not about the homework or what is expected of me.  It is what I know.  Though I am loathe to call myself an artist as I do this work because it touches a deep inner space inside me.  Yet what I have learned in this class is how to be an artist.  I know enough and have the words to put into action what I have learned, especially the importance of design and staying true to that design.  Thank you Gail and Penny for my new view of the world and the words to go along with it. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    August 19, 2014 3:58 am

    Susan, your work is absolutely wonderful. I love that you chose bugs as your design motif. The bright hues of your color scheme give each one of those bugs a personality! It’s been a joy following your progress. Congratulations!

  2. pennypeters permalink
    August 19, 2014 8:00 pm

    Congratulations Susan! Your work is so colorful and playful. It is a joy to behold.

  3. September 8, 2014 4:52 pm

    Your work is wonderful, Susan. They look like they would make great illustrations for a children’s book.

Leave a Reply

