Skip to content

Sallybank Road in Stitch…… Guest Blogger – Isabel Parker

July 10, 2014

On a recent trip to Ireland I was lucky enough to visit a shop called Lucy Erridge in Adare, County Limerick.  Many things caught my eye but there was a stunning piece on the wall that I knew needed a new home in Canada.  The name of the artist was Alison Erridge.  I asked the woman running the store if she knew anything about the artist and she replied that she did know quite a bit, as the artist was her mother!

Alison’s maiden name was Liley and she is a founding member of the 62 group.  She has just turned eighty five.  She was gracious enough to send me a synopsis of her life and the information on her inspiration for the picture.  She stated that she worked from a couple of sketchbooks and some photographs of an area called the Sallybank Road. 

She says: “Memories of this road are layered and flickering and weave in and out of one another with little bits of detail that one retells later, so I tried to work this through with thick paper and even types of stitching and limited colour.” I think she has done a marvelous job!

 I was very excited to take the piece with me as I attended a tutorial at Barn House Studio.  Gail was very pleased to see it and filled me in a little more about the artist, even showing me a book that Alison had written.

The piece is at the framers now and I am looking forward to getting it back and hanging it on my wall as a wonderful reminder of a great trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2014 5:23 pm

    What a beautiful piece, Isabel! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  2. annihunt permalink
    July 10, 2014 6:45 pm

    What a find Isabel!

  3. Isabel Parker permalink
    July 11, 2014 5:50 am

    Thanks Ruth and Anni. I was really glad that I wandered into the store. It is a beautiful piece.

  4. July 11, 2014 3:53 pm

    While I was studying City & Guilds Embroidery in Windsor, we learned about British historical and contemporary embroiderers and designers who had an impact on embroidery. This was for a written exam and each embroiderers’ name was worth 1/2 a mark on the exam. This study was worth much more than that. It gave a sense of the past and the progression of stitch (embroidery) into the future as an art form. Alison (Erridge) Liley was on this list. Even though I haven’t met Alison, I was delighted that Isabel made this contact. Gail

Leave a Reply

