Skip to content

An Explosion of Color – Skagit Valley Tulips

April 12, 2014

This week I have been totally saturated with COLOR – first in the classroom with acrylics and then a drive down the road to Roozengaarde Flower and Bulbs fields to take in all of the flowers  – especially the tulips. What an explosion of Color. It was enough to take my breath away.  Color can have that effect on you.  I can even smell the flowers by looking at the photos .  Ok,  my imagination is really well developed!  This weekend there is lots of tulip mania going on in neighboring areas. La Conner, being one such destination. I was standing near a group of people and I overheard a conversation that went something like this: I don’t understand why people think this is so great. There are just miles and miles of the same thing – flowers.  I moved quickly away so I wasn’t tempted to turn around and deliver my lecture on How to Look and  See as an Artist.  Well sometimes words fall on deaf ears, don’t they?   Thanks to  Roozengaarde Flowers and Bulbs for all of the imagination and hard work for an incredible art show and to provide photographic opportunities.  This is the closest we may ever experience of being immersed in the art form itself.  I hope you will get to see the flowers, but if not, enjoy the photos!   Gail

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    April 12, 2014 5:05 pm

    Breathtaking! Thanks for saturating us too!

  2. April 12, 2014 7:43 pm

    Thanks for posting the photos – people are really silly, aren’t they? I’m not sure what they expected but “just flowers” obviously wasn’t enough. I really enjoyed the tulips.

  3. Renate permalink
    April 13, 2014 1:22 am

    Isn’t Mother Nature’s sense of the colour wheel amazing?!! Thank you for sharing the colours of La Connor at this time of the year.

  4. April 13, 2014 12:08 pm

    Really lovely, tulips are my favorite flowers and the colours here are amazing! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

