Skip to content

Downton Abbey Crazy Quilt – Guest Blogger: June Steegstra

March 27, 2014

I have always enjoyed crazy quilts and when the opportunity to make a Downton Abbey crazy quilt became available, I jumped in with my own twist. Using some of the Downton Abbey fabrics in cotton, I am using silk fabric from my stash along with various trims , threads,sequins, buttons ,laces and ribbons.  Many of them hand dyed. Some of the buttons are made of polymer clay to match the colors in the fabrics. I am not using a pattern so each square is unique.  Each square is dedicated to a member of the cast in Downton Abbey and has their initials.  So far I have Mary (pinks), Mathew (blues) and Edith (green). I am using a combination of machine and hand embroidery. The squares are 12 1/2 inches on a muslin backing.  When finished the squares will be sewn together and a backing fabric will be tied to the front.

I am so thankful to the Lord to be able to sew once more after a stroke in April 2013. I am 95% recovered and back in the swing of things.  You just don’t know what will happen so I am thankful for each day that is given to me.

Just a couple of tips I found useful in making the squares.

First, is storage of threads. I have used embroidery floss cards and empty thread spools but a new source I have found useful especially for larger amounts of my dyed thread and trims , are formica sample chips.  They are free from larger hardware stores and have a hole in the top for a ring.  The rings are available at office supply stores.

The second tip is called a fabric folding pen from Clover. It comes with a refillable plastic pen that has a fiber tip.  The pen is filled with water and 5 drops of a solution that comes with the pen is added.  Patch edges are finger folded and the pen is swiped along the edge of the fold.  When dry the fabric holds the fold without any ironing. Real time saver!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Darling permalink
    March 27, 2014 3:05 am

    Thank you for sharing June, it’s a tribute to your tenacity and the wonder and healing possibilities of hand work. Post when it’s all done – ya hear!

  2. March 27, 2014 3:02 pm

    What a wonderful reminescnece on Victorian embroidery and a year of healing. I especially love the initials in the work. Keep stitching!

Leave a Reply

