Skip to content

“Martha gives me tools and helps me grow” – Three Artists talk about Martha Cole

September 5, 2013

Fall is on its way and that means that Martha Cole will soon be back with us for Wheat Paste Explorations and The Extreme Photo Album in October.

We are especially pleased to share the work of three of Martha’s students: Laine Canivet, Patt Wilson and Susan Duffield. When I asked each of them to share a bit about their experience, Susan’s response included the final line “Martha gives me tools and helps me grow.” That says it all!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Laine Canivet: I decided to use Martha’s class as an opportunity to create an extra-special album to show case my own art. The unique cover, the beautiful end pages and the dynamic hand-painted pages are themselves works of art. The photo album is a joy to look at and to look through. Each page turn reveals a visual feast.

Patt Wilson: I am part of a Digital Textile Study group where we all work on exploring the possibilities of combining photos, textiles and stitch to make our own unique work. After an inspiring visit to the Phoenix Desert Botanical Garden, this workshop provided the perfect place to showcase experimental Photoshop work of images from the garden. The book has many different insert ideas allowing for different sizes and depth of work and learning how to adjust the spine to accommodate these added the final detail to make the book work perfectly. As well as traditional hard covers, the introduction of canvas based options was very exciting to me. This structure will support different sizes of books and I think the potential is unlimited for my work as a textile artist. It was a fabulous course and has me working on several more books.

Susan Duffield: Martha is a fabulous teacher and this book has helped me with several projects. She gave us many different methods for displaying pages, and inserting photos and special items. The covers and spines were made with fabric that I had print-dyed with eucalypt leaves and then treated with wheat paste and PVA glue to make book cloth. I already had a stock of papers painted in Aussie colours and hundreds of photographs and digital images to play with. Some images I printed on silk and ‘artists’ papers and used them for the inside book cover. The painted papers were heavier than the blue papers in the book and they became extra title pages and held some of the heavier extra bits I put in the book. Martha gives me tools and helps me grow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2013 5:04 pm

    Martha’s classes are so inspirational! I can’t wait to join her class in October!

  2. Karen permalink
    September 12, 2013 6:56 pm

    Having taken one of Martha’s classes, I would encourage everyone to do so. I thoroughly enjoyed it…..

Leave a Reply

