Skip to content

Conversations in Color and Design – Guest Blogger: Maria Patrizzi

August 24, 2013

Level 3 Studies in Art and Design – Exhibition
I’ve worked in some capacity as an artist for over 40 years, yet I had found myself stuck and unmotivated. So I decided to take Color 1 and Level 3: Art & Design from Gail to hopefully spur me forward. And spur me on it more than did! Not only did I learn a new myriad of techniques, I expanded my color palette. Even knowing a lot about color, I gained more control and a knowledge of logistical versus inspirational reasons for its use. Painted papers, hand-carved stamping, and subsequent collage is the method learned that I enjoy the most. That process adapts perfectly to my theme, which is communication- or rather, non-communication. My work is about trying to say something, but the listener doesn’t quite get it, the way I feel most conversations are. It’s about the gap between what is said and what is heard. I plan to further investigate this subject and technique using the circle and calligraphy shapes from all cultures as inspiration for design. The great women taking and teaching this class have given me the confidence to do just that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen N permalink
    August 24, 2013 8:20 pm

    Incredible! I thoroughly enjoyed your work. I “understood” your conversation….or at least I got a lot out of your conversation! What an interesting point of reference.

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    August 25, 2013 5:07 am

    Your work is very inspiring, Maria. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing it at the exhibition.

  3. August 26, 2013 5:04 am

    Congratulations! Beautiful and inspiring work. What’s next????

  4. August 26, 2013 7:30 pm

    Wow – great work!

  5. September 13, 2013 8:20 am

    This was a very interesting little piece. It has made me stop and think about Maria’s theme of communication and how difficult it is. I worked for many years as a speech and language therapist …..with children who had communication difficulties . …..and with their parents and teachers. I ended up thinking that we all live in our own parallel universe…..bubble-like. Now I work as an artist and I realise that am something of a mystery to myself! My art work is a way of having a conversation with myself ; of working towards an understanding of something ( an idea or emotion ) . So there’s lots of room for miscommunication / misunderstanding. Shifting sands all round!

    • Maria Patrizzi permalink
      September 16, 2013 6:05 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts- you made me think maybe it’s about what I say versus what I mean- not just about conversations with other people.

Leave a Reply

