Skip to content

Passion for Fiber Art – Guest Bloggers: Ruth Lane and Nancy Drake

June 9, 2013

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Level 2 Studies in Design and Stitch
Ruth Lane

Traveling from Montana, I was so excited to come to Level 2 stitch class and become inspired anew. I love to combine machine and hand stitch with my first love of felting. This course gave me such a boost to my skill level and knowledge of design. I loved seeing the work of my classmates and the variety of work that was produced, although we all started with the same instructions. There are so many ideas floating in my head and being put down into my sketchbooks of pieces I plan to create. I am looking forward to continuing down this creative path and following my passion in the fiber arts. Thank you Gail and Penny for such a marvelous experience.

Nancy Drake

I’ve been doing stitching of one sort or another from childhood, whether making clothing, knitting, or embroidery, but with no art background. Level 2 Hand and Machine Stitch was a great class. I learned so much in the sessions and by working with and next to great classmates.

I have several favorite techniques, from Kantha stitch to layering and cutting sack some layers on samples. And then there was the dyeing of fabrics and threads – also fun. I did discover that I love working by hand or machine without a hoop. I find myself looking at all sorts of things and thinking about what stitch could work with them. I look forward to the color class in June.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 12:21 am

    It is always inspiring to me to see such a creative body of work by a group of students who have all been given the same stitch exercises to start with. Every student has her own signature in color, design and stitch. It’s magic! I love seeing your work again. Congratulations!

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    June 10, 2013 1:35 am

    Nancy and Ruth, your work is amazing. Love that everyone’s work is so individual yet similar. Wonderful job…

  3. June 10, 2013 12:43 pm

    Beyond fabulous. Wow.

Leave a Reply

