Skip to content

We Laughed, Groaned and Danced Our Way Through the Course – Guest Bloggers: Lynette Barnes and Patti Olds

June 4, 2013

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Waterlilies Group completed the Level 2 Studies in Design and Experimental Stitch early in 2013. Watch for another blog about the rest of this group. Gail

Lynette Barnes – I have just finished Level 2 Experimental Hand Stitch and Machine Stitch. It was exhilarating, mind stretching, and so very enjoyable! We learned to move beyond the basics of Level 1 and created the most amazing pieces I never thought possible. The ladies in my class were an inspiring group – we laughed, groaned and danced our way thru 18 months. The time went very so very quickly, we were so delighted to meet each session, buckle down to work, then flew off home to jump into homework.
What I learned each session, no matter how challenging, I found some component that I loved and use on the next project.
Thank you Nancy, Patti, Ruth and a special thanks to 2 amazing teachers, Penny and Gail!!

Patti Olds
I’ve been sewing since high school and making all my clothes since then. When I retired, I took up quilting, but after 5 years of that, I was burned out and wanting to take my work in a new direction. Learning that Gail Harker was moving her studio to La Conner, I knew this was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up. I thought I knew a lot about all different kinds of sewing techniques, but I was wrong. The techniques we’ve been taught have added a whole new dimension to my work. I’ve really enjoyed the opportunity to expand my photography into stitched pieces – both hand and machine. I’ve found that pictures of flowers, leaves and sunsets from our South Pacific travels can be turned into interesting stitched art pieces. The shared experience with this group and the amount of time Penny and Gail spend with each of us has been invaluable.
And now I’m starting Level 3 Art and Design and whole new window is opening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 4:35 pm

    Great job Lynette and Patti – I miss you guys! It was great fun and you both produced some amazing work!

  2. Barb Fox permalink
    June 5, 2013 8:13 pm

    Beautiful work, Lynette and Patti! It’s always so much fun to see how each individual interprets the technique at hand. Amazing and inspiring…

Leave a Reply

