Skip to content

Stories Told Through Stitch

May 26, 2013

Heathers Level 2 Studies in Design and Experimental Stitch

Last year in Spring of 2012, a group of seven students completed the Level 2 Course. They came to the center for 6 – 5 day sessions and created some wonderful work. They worked with an historic subject, made hand constructed books full of samples by hand and machine and created printed fabric to stitch. I am a year late in showing this group’s work but here it is. The items that are shown in this blog are a very small part of the work that the Heathers created. Gail Harker

Journeys often evoke images of far off places, treks through mountains, sailing excursions, and almost always something physical. The journey I embarked upon a few years ago had to do with giving myself the gift of feeding my inner fabric/textile person. “Messing” with art things evolved to a directed learning as intense and fulfilling as any learning I’ve ever done. With Gail’s (and Penny’s) instruction and coaching, I’ve begun to view the world around me with new eyes, from minute pieces of moss growing in the driveway that have interesting reds and greens, shapes and lines, to the story that can be told through stitch, to my interpretation of a given technique or visual image. I rather lurch through this journey, finding each new step taking over my energy, causing me to pause, to learn, to ponder, to experiment, to move and to create. Then a new step and the process begins again. Combining steps, what tomorrow, what if I do this, where do I go next? What caused me pause a few years ago, caused me to question whether or not I could do the artistic endeavor, no longer causes me to back off. I know that I can take on that leg of the journey, taking the steps needed to be successful in the fabric arts world. For me this journey just gets better.      Written by Sydney Hole

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    May 26, 2013 2:54 am

    Such a wonderful two years!

  2. Jill Taylor permalink
    May 28, 2013 5:46 pm

    Are you sure this was Level 2? A wonderful collection of work. Congratulations all.

Leave a Reply

