Skip to content

My Journey into Color – Guest Blogger Roz DeBoer

April 10, 2013

I’ve been taking Level 1 Color Studies Online. Unit 1 was an interesting journey, learning about color associations and making studies with colored papers. For Units 2 and 3, I set up a painting station in a corner of our living room….we don’t entertain formally, so this is a little used room, and the carpet is so OLD that I thought “maybe if I spill a lot of paint, I can get a new floor in here”…well, I was too neat for that to happen but I got some great painting done!

The clear acrylic square at center front was my actual paint spot and the glass piece to the right was where I mixed the paint and there was room for pages to dry off to the far right. You can see the trays for paints, clean water, and dirty water bucket just above these areas. The extra paint that didn’t go on sketchbook pages was mopped up with paper towels and I decided they were just too cool to throw away so I am saving them for some future piece of art…you can see some of them at the upper right. The left half of the table was my “dry” area for paper, brushes, and other supplies for the course.

I may have to disassemble the unit 1 sketchbook and paint those covers too, as they look uninspired next to the unit 2 and 3 books. All in all, I have 3 wonderful reference books on color that I will refer back too often in my future work!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 7:14 pm

    Roz your colours and work are wonderful. Love your Summertime Fabulous

Leave a Reply

