Skip to content

Crazy Quilting – Guest blogger Maureen Goldsmith

December 13, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


All work is by Maureen Goldsmith with the exception of the antique quilted pictures and a work by Pauline Thompson.

Why do you like a particular craft? Have you ever thought about it? I have. One of my favorites is Crazy Quilting but it wasn’t love at first site. I dabbled with this technique in the 70’s and 80’s but it wasn’t until 2005 that the love affair began. At that time I took a serious look at Crazy Quilting while working on Historical Research for my City & Guilds Diploma in Patchwork & Quilting.

While studying quilts in Canada, I had the opportunity of spending time in several museum archives alongside museum curators. Seeing beautifully embellished quilts from the 1800’s was incredibly inspiring. I couldn’t help but think about the stitcher, what her life was like and how or if, the stitches related to that life. It was at that point a passion for Crazy Quilting took over.

Ironically, it wasn’t until Gail and I were chatting a while back that I realized that the most significant reason that I love Crazy Quilting is, I am able to combine my passion for both pieced work and embroidery, at the same time, in the same project.

My question to you is “do you know why you love to do the craft you do?”

Join Maureen for Crazy Quilting at the studio January 23 & 24, 2013.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    December 13, 2012 9:38 pm

    Beautiful work Maureen. Love the reasoning behind the passion.

  2. December 13, 2012 10:02 pm

    Wonderful! It’s always great when you combine your passions. I love felting and fiber art because of the wonderful textures and being able to combine stitching, both hand and machine with hand made felt.

  3. Nancy Hanson permalink
    December 15, 2012 8:41 pm

    Lovely work, Maureen. It amazes me how with a different hand and eye…color, placement and combination a few basic stitches can become hundreds

Leave a Reply

