Skip to content

Preparing Black White and Red – Guest Blogger Maria Patrizzi

September 7, 2012

This year we are hosting a three day exhibition as part of Quilt Walk in conjunction with the La Conner Quilt and Textile Museum’s Quiltfest.  The exhibition will be on during October 5, 6 and 7 and veiwable online as well.   The theme of this exhibition is Black, White and Red in miniature art pieces (all works are 5 x 7).  Submitted works are being prepared by students of the center and will be auctioned to raise funds for the Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts Gallery (more details about the auction will be shared in a future post).  Here are some comments, pictures and ideas from one of our students:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Maria’s Story

I was sitting in front of black, white and red paintings, cropping to 5″ x 7″.  Some of them I loved, but they only took maybe 5 minutes (and yeah, with all the rest, a lot longer, plus how long in studying color & shape, etc.).

When I realized I was degrading the painting and in part myself, because it took 5 minutes. In doing that, I was robbing myself of all the work I’ve done to get to a point where I can decide if  it’s good or not, even if it only took 5 minutes.

I’ve realized that unless it was tortured and work-intensive, I had not thought it Art.  I now call this the ‘Van Gogh’ syndrome, when you torture yourself because your art is not tortured enough!  What I’m saying, and I say it to myself too, is LET GO, be gentle to yourself and have faith in your creativity.

We all desire to support Gail, her school, and everything she’s taught us.

It can take only 5 minutes for a painting that is worthy of submission. Part of what Gail has taught us is to use a critical eye and not listen to that emotional, too critical voice saying “it’s not good enough.”  We need to honor ourselves and the education we’ve had by not denying ourselves something that’s good, even great, no matter how long it took to make.

Everyone has something they’ve done, thinking “It’s not good enough.” So look at it again, if you like it. . . send it in! Give it a chance! Have some guts!

Let’s make this a really fun show. The strength of many entries will make it like a beautiful quilt!  Send in everything . . . Gail will have a ball putting them together!….Do it!

Sincerely, Maria Patrizzi

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2012 3:21 pm

    I certainly recognize this internal conversation! You are an insiratuion. Thanks for sharing. Penny

Leave a Reply

