Skip to content

DOODLES – Guest Blogger: Anni Hunt

July 3, 2012

Sketching designs for me is often a matter of finding a piece of inspiration and looking hard at it for a long while.  Sometimes I will find an artist’s postcard or show invitation inspiring or I will study a picture that I have taken on one of my walks.  I’ll place it by the computer to study it for a while. Then when the mood takes me I will put it away and start to draw. This allows me to create my own design from my imagination rather than copying the one that inspired me.I did this with the design here. It was from a card that someone sent me a long time ago. I saved it knowing it would come in useful.  I transferred the design to a stamp and made a positive and negative of it. I also made a silk screen of it.

Since then I have used it in many art pieces. Here are examples of pieces that were inspired by this design.

Sketch books were always an important tool when studying with Gail. I realized quickly that out of a simple ten minutes of sketching some wonderful patterns or designs could emerge.It is always difficult for me to sit down and start. I always feel like I’m wasting time or just procrastinating !  So what I often do is have a sketch pad handy by the phone. Here is a recent sketch that came out of being “on hold” for a little while.

Who knows where this will lead, parts of it could be isolated to use as a stitching design or a stamp/silk screened image on fabric could be used to generate a background for a new piece?  Artwork © Anni Hunt

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri Shinn permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:31 am

    Great! Thanks Anni!

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    July 8, 2012 1:42 am

    Wonderful to see your work again. Thanks! Penny

Leave a Reply

