Skip to content

The Play of Light and Dark….Guest Blogger – Susan Lenarz

June 23, 2012

Experimental Research for

Advanced Design – Diploma Course Exhibition

Class Name: Sapphires

As I entered Level 4 Design, I chose a new area of study.  My theme is enveloped in the medieval period. Growing up I had an interest in cathedrals and gothic art. Moving through this class, I further explored pattern in cathedral architecture, the color and design of stained glass windows, and within cloth.  Goldwork was important to me.  I explored a variety of media including encaustic which was new to me.  One surprising “revelation” to me was my growth in understanding the play of light and dark – without dark, you cannot create the light.  I also found myself drawn to icons.  I became fascinated by the expressions within people’s faces. Particularly in studying icons I saw serenity that I then worked to re-create. This class was truly a catalyst for my growth as an artist.  My discoveries of light and dark and translating the feeling of serenity were important touchstones for me.  Artwork © Susan Lenarz

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Peters permalink
    June 24, 2012 10:07 pm

    It is a delight seeing your work on my own computer! You go girl! Penny

  2. Karen N permalink
    June 25, 2012 2:14 am

    I just think that your work with icons is amazing! Karen

Leave a Reply

