Skip to content

Patterns in Celtic Art….. Guest Blogger – Martha Kleihege

June 21, 2012

Experimental Research for

Advanced Design – Diploma Course Exhibition

Class Name: Sapphires

While I thought that I would find Level 4 Design to be merely a step to the next stitch class, I found that I grew in unexpected ways.  I focused on a study of pattern as my main theme for this class, with early Celtic art as an avenue.  I was drawn into Celtic art because of the weaving of geometric and curvilinear lines. The challenge of making each piece look old and aged was invigorating my technique in painting – using color and texture to create a look for patina in my art brought really exciting results.  I am looking forward to the challenge to create the same result in stitch. art © Martha Kleihege

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2012 5:02 pm

    I love the colors and patterns. You have really achieved an ancient “look” to the work. Wish I could have seen it in person.

  2. marginmirror permalink
    June 21, 2012 6:14 pm

    I am in awe.

  3. pennypeters permalink
    June 21, 2012 6:20 pm

    Can’t wait to join you to explore the stitch phase of your Celtic study! Cheering you on! Penny

  4. Karen N permalink
    June 25, 2012 2:19 am

    Your work is always so textural and so rich in color and design. There is so much look at and enjoy in each piece. Karen

Leave a Reply

