Skip to content

Grand Dreams on the Grand Canyon… Guest Blogger – Maria Winner

June 14, 2012

Experimental Research for

Advanced Design – Diploma Course Exhibition

Class Name: Sapphires

The Grand Canyon has become a part of my life, as I have spent weeks floating the Colorado River. My thoughts constantly go back to my times on the river – hiking, rowing, cooking, hauling gear, caring for members in my group and of course, observing. The images never leave me- it has become the inspiration – the foundation of my Grand Dreams. Interaction with the Canyon is an emotional journey in itself. Rapids, rock walls, the beauty of a new blossom, even the possibility of danger at each turn, evoke overwhelming excitement. In this series of work, I hope you also experience this journey through my Grand Dreams. Expanding my work, I grew in the use of acrylic paints, block printing, oil sticks and altered photographs.

artwork© Maria Winner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    June 14, 2012 5:29 am

    It was a great experience traveling with you in the Grand Canyon of your dreams. Penny

  2. Karen N permalink
    June 25, 2012 2:23 am

    I must have missed your accompanying book at the exhibition. It is amazing! Karen

Leave a Reply

