Skip to content

Art and Design, One Bite At A Time…Guest Blogger – Karen Nelson

June 10, 2012

Experimental Research for

Advanced Design – Diploma Course Exhibition

Class Name: Sapphires

Level Four Design has been both a challenge and a gift for me as an artist. With so many factors outside of art weighing heavy, it was a struggle to feel both inspired and confident to create art. While falling behind in my efforts, I did take small steps to keep at my work. As my close friend, Alba, always says, eat the elephant one bite at a time.” What I did learn personally was that art has a place in our lives at all times. Art may be our diversion from work. It may be our vehicle of expression. It may be our reflection on creation. It may be the center of our careers. No matter what role art plays in our lives, it is a gift to be able to express it. A huge thank you to Gail, and to Penny, for the tools, insight, and support for all of us to bring art into our lives as we so seek. – Artwork © Karen Nelson

See Karen’s earlier blog  – With Wild Abandon –  the theme is the same as the pictures of her slide show. So many people looked and found enjoyment in this earlier blog!!!!

https://gailcreativestudies.wordpress.com/category/courses/level-3-advanced-studies-in-experimental-stitch/page/2/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire Jones permalink
    June 10, 2012 6:58 pm

    Wonderful work. I just love your use of color.

  2. npiepenbring permalink
    June 11, 2012 2:19 pm

    Karen, I have placed your statement about art on my wall at work. I needed to be reminded about the importance of art in my everyday life. Your work is fun, full of life, and joyful.

    • June 11, 2012 2:51 pm

      In some ancient societies art was not a separate word but an integral part of everyday life. I’m starting the day with my sketchbook by drawing the pattern on a pansy. Gail

Leave a Reply

