Skip to content

Forget Me Not

May 29, 2012

I am thinking about all the people who fought in any of the wars throughout the world. Also of their families who have been and are without their loved ones.   Memorial Day helps us to remember but not to help us get beyond the wars. Here’s a tribute to all of those people.  Gail Harker

The following is a note from an embroidered  postcard given to me by Barry Taylor:

Feb. 24, 1916

I say, Jim, This is a hell of a concern. They’re killing men here, I got shelled the other day, and it’s not nice.  I have been 3 times under Fritz’s influence.  Bugger my Tam o Shanter, but things will have to end or I am hopping it, but they will not give me the complete sack, what do you think I am, an Iron Lancer? Do you know, you are as lucky as a Dog with 2 Tam o Shanters for to escape this. Well, never mind, I hope it will not be long before we are Bussing again.

 Love to Nellie and children, Lloyd.

The sentiment remains no matter what year. These postcards with embroidered silk floss were plentiful at the time of the First World War.

A soldier’s note from First World War.  The text is printed above.

An embroidered page from one of my sketchbooks

Closup of embroidered page – Gail Harker

One Comment leave one →
  1. pennypeters permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:47 am

    Thank you for your memorial to those who have been lost in war. Penny

Leave a Reply

